21/09/2016 – What I’ve been reading lately

I picked up a couple of books at the library discard table, ‘Hammerjack’ by Marc D. Diller and ‘The Red Tree’ by Caitlin Kiernan. ‘Hammerjack’ was a cyberpunk novel with all of the action amped up and most of the gritty, dystopian background sketched in. Not too bad, not too good. ‘The Red Tree’ seemed to drag a bit, the protagonist was such a miserable, dysfunctional bitch I found myself rooting for the evil, passive aggressive, tree monster. So to speak. Let’s leave that and go on to the one I found in one of those little book box things up by the convenience store – ‘Sabriel’ by Garth Nix. It was a young adult fanatasy novel set in a magic using version of Britain with a wall seperating the mundanes from the magic users. This whole wall thing seems to crop up in British fantasy a lot, Hadrian has a lot to answer for. Quite well done, I enjoyed it enough to look up and read the other two books in the trilogy.

The book I just read was a short story collection by Brad Torgerson called ‘Lights in the Deep’ which I didn’t finish. Preachy, predictable and entirely too full of the author.

 

 

Leave a Reply

